Homes for the Aged.—Homes for the aged are incorporated under the Houses of Refuge, the Houses of Refuge in Districts, and the Charitable Institutions Acts, and are operated by cities, counties, districts and religious or benevolent societies under provincial supervision.

Unemployment Relief.—The Unemployment Relief Act of Ontario authorizes contribution on the part of the Department of Public Welfare toward alleviation of distress of unemployable persons. The municipalities of the Province are reimbursed 50 p.c. of the expenditures, while in the unorganized areas the Province administers and pays the total cost of aid rendered.

Workmen's Compensation.—The Workmen's Compensation Act came into force on Jan. 1, 1915. See pp. 766-770.

Manitoba.—For the organization of the Department of Health and Public Welfare of the Province see p. 811. The Welfare Division of the Department of Health and Public Welfare has two broad sub-divisions:—

- (1) Public Welfare Services and Assistance includes the administration of Mothers' Allowances throughout the Province, social assistance in the unorganized territory of the Province, and the care of transient non-residents. It also includes child care and protection services and the supervision of five Children's Aid Societies covering practically the whole Province. Grants to charitable institutions are made upon the recommendation of the Welfare Supervision Board. A Public Welfare Advisory Committee appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council in May, 1945, acts in an advisory capacity to the Minister on all aspects of public welfare.
- (2) Old Age Pensions and Pensions for the Blind. As at May 1, 1945, the Welfare Division assumed responsibility for the general administration of old age pensions and pensions for the blind. For statistics see pp. 796-98.

Mothers' Allowances.—Manitoba was the first Province to enact this type of legislation, the Act having come into force on Mar. 10, 1916. Statistics of operations are given on p. 803.

Social Assistance.—This includes provision for unemployable and unemployed persons in unorganized territory and the maintenance of aged and incurable persons from unorganized territory in and outside institutions.

Workmen's Compensation.—The Workmen's Compensation Act came into force Jan. 1, 1917. See also pp. 766-770.

Saskatchewan.—The Department of Social Welfare is charged with the responsibility of administering all Acts concerning welfare which have been placed on the Statutes of the Province. The Department is divided into three main Branches:—

- (1) Child Welfare Branch.
- (2) Old Age Pensions Branch.
- (3) Social Aid Branch.

In addition, the Department is divided into the following Divisions: Administrative Division, Welfare Services Division, Mothers' Allowance Division, Home for the Infirm, and Industrial School for Boys.